top of page

UAlbany Senate Has Utilized 28% of Supplemental Budget Line

By Julia Ross-McGuire | November 7, 2022

Photo Credit: Shutterstock

The University at Albany’s Student Association unanimously passed two appropriations bills at last Wednesday’s meeting.

Bills passed totaled $22,472.36 of the $100,000 initially available under the Supplemental Budget Line.

Since the beginning of the semester, five bills have been passed under the line, utilizing nearly 28% of the available funds for the 2022-2023 academic year.

The Knemesis Dance Crew received $12,402.36 from the Supplemental Budget Line for events and apparel.

The second group, Albany State Indian Alliance, received $10,070 from the Supplemental Budget Line for their annual ASIA Night, holiday celebrations, and apparel.

The meeting also saw Oluwaseun Ilori appointed as Director of Intercultural Affairs by unanimous consent. Per the SA website, “The Department of Intercultural Affairs advocates for unity amongst the diverse cultural organizations on campus.”

The Senate passed four Board of Finance appointments of the seven total seats. The SA bylaws state that four of the students should be senators appointed by the Chair of the Student Association Senate and another three should be appointed by the President of the Student Association.

Andrea Akers was appointed to the Board of Finance for the duration of the 2022-2023

academic year by majority vote through one of the president’s appointments.

Senator Jalen Miller, Senator Shania Blair, and Senator Bryana Rogers were appointed to the Board of Finance for the duration of the 2022-2023 academic year through three of the chair’s four appointments.

The board now has five filled seats with three yet to be filled, as Appropriations Chair, Jalen Rose, is an automatic member of the Board of Finance per the SA bylaws.

The meeting further saw four senators be moved to be impeached and referred to the Supreme Court of the Student Association due to a lack of attendance.

The senate ultimately referred Senators Dominique Jean, Tyler De Jesus, Emani Brown, and Charles Shoderu to the Supreme Court for impeachment.


bottom of page